JNN111 Phillip Wilkerson – Particle

7 11 2010

Archive.org page soon
SonicSquirrel page

There was an interview the other day in which, if I remember correctly Phillip stated that he was going to concentrate less on the experimental free releases. Well since you are reading these words here you are clearly recognizing that the great Phillip Wilkerson has yet done it again. Right before your eyes is the latest experimental release from Phillip that can be regarded as a blessing for your wanton ears. If you’ve heard some of the previous JNN releases by Phillip I can but say, the man is taking it all a step further, another step deeper into the sounds and mechanics of these sounds. Particle is a treat and it should be welcomed to your harddrive with honor. Thank you Phillip for creating this and sharing it with the world through JNN.


01 – Particle Zwei
02 – Particle Drei
03 – Particle Vier
04 – Particle Sieben
05 – Particle Neun

JNN111 zipfile including artwork


JNN015 – Phillip Wilkerson – Foregone conclusion

7 11 2008

Archive.org page
Sonicsquirrel page

Digital data has a lifecycle all its own. And oddly enough, the digital lifecycle mirrors the organic. Every digital bit of data experiences: being born; fighting to survive within the world where it finds itself; interfacing with other data or with the physical world; and then inevitably–it ends. It is deleted, forgotten, or lost. Like all organic life, data has a beginning and therefore, at some point, must also experience an ending. The experimental stream of sound on this release is an attempt to artistically convey the secret, tiny lives and lifecycles of the billions of bits of data (in this case, audio samples), swirling around and around first on a single hard-drive, and then multiplied across many–a microcosm of we humans and the stream of our collective consciousness, blended together and whipping around and around in a vast universe that once, too, had a beginning…and the foregone conclusion is….

01 – Foregone
02 – Conclusion

Foregone conclusion zipfile + artwork
All tracks 320kbs. Runtime: 35,17 minutes

review this release