IMC01 various artists – Mental Hygiene League

7 08 2010 page
SonicSquirrel page

YES! You are certainly reading this right. A brand new catalog has rissen amidst the fireworks that is called Just not Normal.
IMC is short for Intelligent Machinery Compilations! And for those who know the background of how Just not Normal came about they will know it is birthed from NTNS radio. And long before NTNS radio the second edition as we know it today came about there once was NTNS radio before. From late 2004 till early 2007 NTNS was around already and back in those days it was hosted by John Ingram. Alongside he ran a netlabel called Intelligent Machinery. As I know all to well myself that I could never fully give up on music and the world around it John returns today in the realm of releases.
Starting with this very special compilation you will find here special projects initiated by the master himself and now nested within the compounds of Just not Normal. This is only the beginning!!!!

It was in 1975 that a group of high school friends started calling themselves the Mental Hygiene League. The name was chosen to represent the gathering together and sharing of their artistic musings and wistful discoveries. 35 years later, this small group of free-thinkers has expanded into a cultural and artistic phenomenon that has bridged generational gaps. Collected here for the first time is an offering of sonic meanderings from an assortment of people who are of the Mental Hygiene League: some tracks are solo performances and others are live group ensembles, but all tracks are truly Hygienic.


01 Jeff Hill – Don’t tell a soul
02 Delta Brane – The Awwa suite
03 The Mental Hygiene League – Spiders dancing on a mirror
04 Controlled Dissonance – Illustration 12b
05 The Mental Hygiene League – Bent hadron
06 Ken Hopson – Moon eyes on me
07 The Mental Hygiene League – In the dead of the nightingale
08 Lee Mattox – 092198v2
09 AWWA – Railroad tracks
10 MIR – The storm

IMC01 zipfile including artwork



3 responses

8 08 2010

rock it bab~!

8 08 2010

A long time coming, a long time gone! Thanks for all the work putting this together John! Thanks to Just Not Normal for releasing this compilation! And thanks to all these crazy knuckleheads who contributed to this wonderful music! Or I should say “Space Music!” At least that is the genre we generally aspired to! We hope that you will enjoy!



9 08 2010
10 o’clock Rock «

[…] to Intelligent Machinery compilations, which saw its very first release this weekend with the Mental Hygiene League compilation. I hadn't originally intended for the album to be released this way, but it makes sense so I […]

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: